Tyler’s Dad tells the story

Posted on 19/05/2011 by

0


Posted for

Polebot, Tyler’s Father

When Tyler came into my full time care, his mother was double dosing him with Adderall XR15. Meaning when he got home from school she was giving him another pill to curb what she called “his coming down”. In 2 years of having my son I never observed the behavior she was referring too. She went to jail for petty theft and driving on suspended license charges,

I received a phone call from my mother telling me that I needed to pick up my son from school. This was it! The chance I had been waiting for! No more “babies momma drama”, no more bs, just me and my son. I can raise him how I see fit and help him develop into a good man. I have already let go of my party life, would require just a little more time out of my day.. you know what? LETS DO IT!
   received a phone call from my mother telling me that I needed to pick up my son from school. This was it! The chance I had been waiting for! No more “babies momma drama”, no more bs, just me and my son. I can raise him how I see fit and help him develop into a good man. I have already let go of my party life, would require just a little more time out of my day.. you know what? LETS DO IT!
I

Right around the time that I got a note home requesting a meeting with his teacher. I agreed and set the meeting. After the meeting I learned that my son was VERY far behind in school. He was already on these drugs for so long, how can he possibly still be doing badly? I promised the teacher stricter discipline and more work at home. The next few weeks Tyler and I got back on track and I assumed he was doing better. I then got another note requesting another meeting, this time with administrators and professionals?

I looked at my son and ask him whats going on? Isn’t he trying harder? Doesn’t he understand that I was serious when I said there was going to be consequences? he confessed that he was trying very hard and is doing his best now.

I went to this meeting and on one side of a long brown table sat 5 nicely dressed adults, and then on the other side of the desk, a kid sized chair. Probably one just like Tyler sat in everyday. Then after a few introductions they all sat in big people chairs, I noticed but sat and listened to what they had to say.

I must admit they were very persuasive, showing me some school work of his while he was off the medication, and then while he was on the medication. Occasionally murmuring phrases like, “don’t you want whats best for him”. My resolve lessened and I admitted that I did want what was best for him, and agreed to put him back on the meds. No other alternatives presented themselves, or were offered. Now I realize that the bad schoolwork was another result of the medication, his brain, without the meds, would recede back to the last time it was off them. He was barely 5 when these bastards starting the process that eventually ended his sweet little life.

Throughout the next 2 years of Tyler’s life I took him off the medicine every chance I could. Every weekend, every spring break, summer break, winter break, any day I could I would not give it to him. Call me crazy but I like a kid with an imagination and creativity. A child that can entertain with a story or joke, instead of one word answers.

Every time he started with a new teacher I would attempt to keep him off but being harrassed two to four days a week out of a five day week was getting old. I wanted what was best for him but like I said there were no options. I was told I had the right to informed consent? They even called me at 1:30pm asking me to bring him medicine one time. I stated that by the time I got there and the medicine kicked in it would be 2:30.

The teacher was pushing and pushing for my son to be so doped out he couldn’t possibly talk out of turn or cause her to have to stop her teachings to correct him. She flagged my parents down and called me almost daily the month Tyler was off his medicine exactly 2 months before he died. She was not as his funeral.

If you personally know someone that this medicine has helped, that’s wonderful. A BABY who’s brain is not fully developed and who is not done maturing, should NEVER be FORCIBLY drugged by the school board, pediatricians, or their own parents for behavior modification

